Skip To Main Content
Recognizing Middle School Award Winners

Earlier this week, the Middle School honored students who have gone above and beyond in the classroom, in the athletics arena and in our school community. Congratulations to this year’s Middle School award winners (view photos in Vidigami), and to Middle School history teacher Kirstin Baillie, who received the John M. Anderson Excellence in Teaching Award! 

The Sanford and Barbara Orkin Scholarships honor exceptional students in grades six, seven and eight who exemplify “the courage to strive for excellence.” They challenge recipients to continue personal growth and to provide outstanding models for other students. This year’s recipients are:

Sixth Grade: Biddy Mautner and Emmy Webb

Seventh Grade: Rohan Brahma and Jane Murphy

Eighth Grade: Ann Cole Canova, Nik Kothari and Hiruni Manawadu

The Jim & Lesley Wheeler Scholar Athlete Award is given to two students from each grade, seventh and eighth, who excel in athletics and have earned a minimum academic average of 90 for the year. These scholar-athletes exemplify the highest standard of academic excellence, good sportsmanship and citizenship. This year’s recipients are:

Seventh Grade: Connor Chitwood and Bodhi Venturi

Eighth Grade: Grayden Auchincloss, Henry Baddley, Katie Wrigley and Megan Wrigley

The Mark A. Sommerville Citizenship Award is awarded to eighth-grade students who exemplify honor, service, courage, leadership and patriotism. This year’s inaugural recipients are Braylen Drews and Dean Hindman.

The Kathie M. Larkin Outstanding Achievement Award is presented to two students from the eighth grade who epitomize community leadership, school spirit and dedicated diligence. This year’s recipients are Asim George and Chloé Quéguiner.

The BJ Hayes Good Citizenship Award is given to two students from the seventh grade who best represent the ideal of good citizenship as displayed by their fine character, humility and willingness to put others first. This year’s recipients are Sophia Fetter and Roman Pace.